Sugar, Bird Feed and Biscuit Mix Sacks! OH MY!

I’ve recently fell in love with Sacks! The uniqueness, the history behind them, the feel and look, I find to be Oh So Cool~

The first sack I inherited from my Grandmother. It was a sugar sack from the 1930’s. I’ve started enhancing the faded lettering with yarn, so it will “pop”!

Candy sugar originates from India & Persia. Arabic writers in the first half of the 9th century described the production of candy sugar. Crystals were grown as a result of cooling supersaturated sugar solutions. In order to accelerate crystallization, confectioners later learnt to immerse small twigs in the solution for the crystals to grow on. The sugar solution was colored with cochineal and indigo and scented with ambergris or flower essence.

Candy Sugar is a great sweetener for tea or coffee and simply looks pretty on the table. Candy sugar is known for centuries for its therapeutic applications. It is also popular among makers of homemade fruit liqueurs.

1930’s Sugar Sack…Now this is vintage!

Notice how the lettering is fading~I like it better with the yarn enhancement, what do you think?I purchased this little gem of a sack while in Seville a couple of weeks ago. It was only $3 and has some stain….but, I feel it gives it more of an unique look!  But, that’s me! LOL.

I love the texture of this, plus is from Cleveland, Ohio!

Ofcourse, a crown at the bottom….a lil bit of Paris in Ohio Close up of the cardinal.

And I received this Biscuit Mix Mini Sack today from my sis~

I love the texture of the materials used from back in the ole days…my other NEW love is burlap…Perhaps I’ll be lucky enough to find some on my road trip this weekend….Stay tuned…

Hugs!

I’m off to do some much needed housework!

 

One thought on “Sugar, Bird Feed and Biscuit Mix Sacks! OH MY!

Leave a Reply

